Wisdom Wednesdays: Spring into Action! Help Others Grow With an ALDE Membership

by Natascha Malkemes

How long have you been an ALDE member? Do you remember when you first joined? What does ALDE membership mean to you? Take a few moments to ponder these questions (and please share your thoughts in the comments area).

I joined ALDE almost two years ago (time flies!) at the recommendation of my supervisor. At the time, I really didn’t know much about ALDE (to be honest, every time I heard the name “ALDE” I automatically thought of the grocery chain! Yes, I’ll admit it!). What I didn’t realize upon joining was that I would be welcomed right away into a great group of people. Soon after I joined I became involved in both the Message Team and Membership Recruitment Task Force. I felt like a celebrity at my very first ALDE conference in Portland (that “Newcomer” flag on my name badge sure did help!). It’s been a great experience. I have had the opportunity to connect with my peers in marketing and communications and resource development and have learned so much along the way. There’s no question that I have found great value in my ALDE membership. I must say, I belong to several other associations relevant to my field, and no other group has been as welcoming as the ALDE gang. I’ve gained the most from my experience with ALDE.

But enough about me, already! What about you? What did you think about when I asked the three questions above? Who do you know that could benefit from an ALDE membership? Who could you help grow in their fundraising or marketing and communications career? Share information about ALDE with them.  There are several membership categories to fit any need.

As an active member, you are truly ALDE’s greatest asset and make the best ambassador! Through the ALDE Ambassador Program, you can introduce prospective members to the benefits of ALDE. If that person joins, and includes your name on his or her membership application, you will receive a $25 Visa debit card. Pretty cool, huh?

Also, if you had a lovely time reminiscing over your experience with ALDE, the Membership Recruitment Task Force would be delighted to hear from you. We are always interested in gathering testimonials from ALDE members.

Let’s work together to help ALDE membership blossom!

Natascha Malkemes is the Director of Marketing and Communications at Lutheran Social Services (LSS) of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan, Inc., based in Milwaukee, Wis. Learn more about LSS at www.lsswis.org.

One thought on “Wisdom Wednesdays: Spring into Action! Help Others Grow With an ALDE Membership

Leave a Reply

